5 Steps to Take after a Car Accident

Car crashes are incredibly common in California, and people need to be aware that there are certain things all individuals must do after motor vehicle accidents so they can ensure that they will have the best chance of recovering financial compensation they may need for many of the costs they will incur because of the accidents. When you suffer injuries or your loved one dies in a car accident, make sure you quickly contact a San Mateo County personal injury lawyer.

No two car accidents are ever the same, so you need to appreciate that certain aspects relating to your crash could be very different from the ordinary accident. Take all five of the following steps to give yourself the best chance at making sure that you will be taken care of by the insurance company that will be responsible for paying damages in these cases.

Call the Police

Under California Vehicle Code § 20008, the driver of a motor vehicle involved in any car accident causing injuries to or death of any person must get either the Department of the California Highway Patrol or a police department for the city in which the accident occurred to perform a written accident report within 24 hours of the accident. You will also have to report a collision to the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) using an SR 1 form within 10 days if a person suffers injuries, a person dies, or the accident causes property damage of more than $1,000.

Seek Medical Attention

You should always go to a hospital after a car accident, even when you do not think you were hurt. Medical attention is incredibly important because it creates a record of treatment that insurance companies will usually require before paying any settlements, but more importantly, you will also have health assurances when a doctor or some other medical professional performs a complete examination to ensure you did not suffer injuries that may have delayed symptoms.

Exchange Information

Get all other drivers to provide their names, contact information, and vehicle information (make, model and year), as well as driver’s license numbers, license plate numbers, and insurance information (company and policy numbers). Many police officers who respond to your call should gather this information for you if you happen to require immediate medical care.

Document Evidence

When it is possible, try to take as many pictures as you can of your crash scene and also look to get the names and contact information of any potential witnesses. If you cannot take these steps yourself because of your need for medical care, then ask anybody else you know, such as a friend, family member, or co-worker to do this for you.

Contact Your Insurance Company

You will need to report your crash to your own insurance company, but you should not speak to any other insurer. If another party’s insurance company contacts you, decline making any statements until you have legal representation.

Call Us Today to Schedule a Free Consultation with a San Mateo County Personal Injury Lawyer

Did you suffer severe injuries, or was your loved one killed in a car accident in California? You should make sure to seek the help of The Law Office of Reuben J. Donig in recovering as much compensation as possible for your losses.

Our firm knows that car accident victims can face long and trying battles to recover from their injuries, but you do not have to struggle with any financial hardships because of another party’s negligence. Call (650) 649-4622 or contact us online for a free consultation so we can review your case and answer all of your legal questions.

Share On